Shirley Horn Trio - Violets For Your Furs (1981)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 45:49 | Size: 104.45 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1 Our Love Is Here To Stay 3:27
2 Georgia On My Mind 7:25
3 Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You 3:40
4 Lover Man 5:18
5 Violets For Your Furs 4:56
6 Baby Won't You Please Come Home 4:14
7 My Man 10:16
8 More Than You Know 4:18
9 I Didn't Know What Time It Was 2:25

Piano, Vocals – Shirley Horn
Bass – Charles Ables
Drums – Billy Hart

Recorded July 10, 11 & 12, 1981 at the Northsea Jazz Festival, The Hague, Netherlands.
Six years before she signed with Verve and finally became a big name, Shirley Horn already sounded quite mature and fully developed on this live trio date. Recorded at the 1981 Northsea Jazz Festival with bassist Charles Ables and drummer Billy Hart, the pianist/vocalist performs nine familiar standards, including versions of "More Than You Know" and "I Didn't Know What Time It Was" that did not come out until the 1991 CD reissue. The emphasis, as usual, is on ballads, including "Gee Baby Ain't I Good to You," "Baby Won't You Please Come Home" and the title cut. This lesser-known set is up to the same level as Shirley Horn's best-selling Verve sets. Recommended.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar