Elvin Jones - Mr. Jones (1972)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 38:30 | Size: 101.84 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. One's Native Place
2. Gee Gee
3. Mr. Jones
4. What's Up - That's It
5. Soultrane
6. New Breed

Elvin Jones - drums
Dave Liebman - tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute
Steve Grossman - tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
Jan Hammer - piano, electric piano
Gene Perla - bass, electric bass
Carlos "Patato" Valdes - congas
Frank Ippolito - percussion
Pepper Adams - baritone saxophone
Thad Jones - flugelhorn
Albert Duffy - timpani

A overlooked gem in Elvin Jones' Blue Note career – and an album that's virtually the blueprint for the Stone Alliance sound forged later in the decade by bassist Gene Perla and reedman Steve Grossman! Both players are working to full effect on this smoking little set – mixing some of the more spiritual modes of other group members with their own sharper-edged, funky-leaning styles – all held together perfectly by both Jones' tight work on drums, and his expansive musical vision! Other players are great too – and include Pepper Adams on baritone sax, David Liebman on flute and tenor, and Jan Hammer on acoustic piano – an instrument he handles with surprising subtlety and soul. Many cuts have a hard, choppy groove – and titles include a remake of "Gee Gee", plus "One's Native Place", "Mr Jones", and "What's Up – That's It".

Recorded at Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey.
A1 to A3 from the Blue Note LP 'Poly-Currents' Session, recorded September 26, 1969.
(On rear of cover, left: Produced by Francis Wolff from the Blue Note LP 'Poly-Currents' BST-84331, referring to A1 to A3)
B1 to B3 recorded July 12, 1972.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar