The George Shearing Quintet With Brass Choir - Satin Brass (1960)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 33:04 | Size: 75.71 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Deep Night
02. In The Blue Of Evening
03. I Could Write A Book
04. Sleepy Manhattan
05. If I Had You
06. Just Plain Bill
07. First Floor Please
08. Chelsea Bridge
09. A Ship Without A Sail
10. Stairway To The Stars
11. You Look Like Someone
12. Night Flight
Label - Capitol

The George Shearing Quintet:
George Shearing - Piano
Warren Chasen - Vibes
Dick Garcia - Guitar
Herman Wright - Bass
Walter Bolden - Drums
The George Shearing Quintet (comprised of piano, vibes, guitar, bass and drums) is joined by four trumpets, four trombones, two French horns and a tuba for a dozen easy-listening performances on this Capitol LP. The pianist/leader arranged the majority of the selections which include a few standards and several obscurities. Although the instrumentation might lead one to believe that this LP will contain shouting performances, actually the playing is often quite mellow and restrained with the Quintet very much in the lead throughout. Nice music but not too essential.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar