The Dirty Dozen Brass Band - Voodoo (1987)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 39:57 | Size: 86.55 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. It's All Over Now (with Dr. John) (5:00)
02. Voodoo (6:47)
03. Oop Pop A Dah (with Dizzy Gillespie) (3:58)
04. Gemini Rising (4:11)
05. Moose The Mooche (with Branford Marsalis) (3:27)
06. Don't Drive Drunk (3:21)
07. Black Drawers / Blue Piccolo (9:21)
08. Santa Cruz (4:19)

Baritone Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Cuica, Percussion – Roger Lewis (2)
Drums [Snare], Percussion – Jenell Marshall
Sousaphone – Kirk Joseph
Tenor Saxophone, Percussion – Kevin Harris (4)
Trombone – Charles Joseph
Trumpet – Efrem Towns, Gregory Davis

Recording Date August, 1987 - September, 1987
The Dirty Dozen Brass Band certainly knew how to have a good time while playing their music. Their spirited blending of New Orleans jazz parade rhythms with R&B-ish horn riffs made them flexible enough to welcome guests Dr. John (who sings and play piano on "It's All Over Now"), Dizzy Gillespie ("Ooh-Pop-A-Dah"), and Branford Marsalis ("Moose the Mooche") to their Columbia debut without altering their music at all. With Gregory Davis and Efrem Towns playing strong trumpet in the ensembles and occasional solos, and with sousaphonist Kirk Joseph not letting up for a moment, this is a typically spirited set by the unique DDBB.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar