Paul Bley Trio - The Nearness Of You (1988)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:05:56 | Size: 145.95 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. This Can't Be Love
2. The Nearness of You
3. What a Difference a Day Makes
4. These Foolish Things
5. Blues in the Closet
6. Lullaby of Birdland
7. We'll be Together Again
8. Take the A-Train
Label – Steeple Chase
Recorded November 21, 1988

Paul Bley - piano
Ron McClure - bass
Billy Hart – drums
Recorded in 1989 and issued simultaneously on LP and CD, the digital version features two extra cuts and thus weighs in at about 16 minutes longer than the vinyl. The first question is why an artist of Bley's restlessness and vision would record a batch of tunes like these old nuggets in the first place. Bley's trio on this date is an estimable one: Drummer Billy Hart and bassist Ron McClure join the pianist for eight standards that range from the title track by Hoagy Carmichael to Oscar Pettiford's Blues in the Closet to George Shearing's Lullaby of Birdland. Bley has an interesting way of approaching standards, which is why this hard bop rhythm section is key to the performances here.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar