Margaret Whiting - Too Marvelous For Words (1977)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:04:29 | Size: 142.65 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. My Ideal
2. Any Place I Hang My Hat Is Home
3. Love Among The Young
4. I Guess I'll Have To Change My Plan
5. My Future Just Passed
6. Sleepy Time Gal
7. You Go Your Way
8. Something's Gotta Give
9. An Old Flame Never Dies
10. They're Either Too Young Or Too Old
11. Can't Teach My Heart New Tricks
12. On The Good Ship Lollipop
13. You Grow Sweeter As The Years Go By
14. Have You Got Any Castles, Baby
15. Something You Never Had Before
16. She's Funny That Way
17. Day In Day Out
18. Guilty
19. One For My Baby
20. Make The Man Love Me
21. Namely You
22. Trouble Is A Man
23. Too Marvelous For Words
24. I Remember You
Recording Date January 10, 1977
Audiophile, one of the George H. Buck, Jr. Jazz Foundation family of record labels, is home to many singers of the great popular songs. When they record for this label, they are usually approaching the tail end of their careers, although their skills have not diminished. While voices may be a little huskier and the higher notes more difficult to reach, these fine singers nonetheless still possess their feel for the music, which has been honed with years of experience. The label provides a valuable service to lovers of this kind of music by not letting some of the finest practitioners of the vocal art fade from public view. Among the many who have found a home here is one of the most beloved singers of popular songs, Margaret Whiting. Too Marvelous for Words is a tribute to her father, Richard Whiting, and to Johnny Mercer. A reissue of material released in 1980, the CD has eight more tracks than the LP and a more resonant sound. Time has been good to Whiting. There's a more mature feel to her voice, replacing that girlish sound that characterized her singing in earlier years. Accompanied by Loonis McGlohon, who has accompanied many of those recording for Audiophile, Whiting does songs written by those whom she met as visitors to her father's home when she was a child, bringing a special intimacy to her performance. The rich vibrancy of her voice, coupled with her masterful delivery techniques, comes through on such familiar tunes as "Sleepy Time Gal" and "I Remember You." These qualities make lesser-known works like "Have You Got Any Castles, Baby?" and "Can't Teach My Old Heart New Tricks" sound better than they should. This reissue is a happy addition to the library of vocal recordings of American classic popular music.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar