Freddie Hubbard - Splash (1981)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 38:20 | Size: 118.29 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. Splash 5.05
2. Mystic Lady 4.52
3. I'm Yours 4.57
4. Touchdown 5.10
5. You're Gonna Lose Me 5.24
6. Sister Stine 5.24
7. Jarri 7.18
Label - Ace Records

Freddie Hubbard - trumpet, flugelhorn
David T. Walker, Paul Jackson Jr. - guitar
Al Hall Jr. - synthesizer, trombone, percussion
Chester Thompson, Clarence McDonald, Louis Small – keyboards
Jeanie Tracy, Maurice "Mo" Young - backing vocals
Ron Brown, David Sheilds - bass
Jim Keltner, James Gadson - drums
William "Buck" Clarke, Tony Flores - percussion
'Splash' is probably the smoothest of all of Hubbard's fusion records and includes four tracks featuring soulful lead vocalist, Jeanie Tracy. The best of them is 'You're Gonna Lose Me,' a svelte, moody, mid-tempo dancer that has been championed by the UK's Modern Soul scene. It builds slowly on the verse section, which is underpinned by a loping groove, and then eases into an infectious chorus where Jeanie Tracy's impassioned vocals are superb. 'Splash,' the opener, also features Tracy's vocals, as do the mid-tempo 'Touchdown' and 'Jarri,' though certainly the vocals don't eclipse Hubbard's stellar trumpet playing, which is always arresting.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar