Buddy DeFranco - Mr. Lucky (1981)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 41:08 | Size: 94.65 MB | MP3 320 kbps
Side 1
1. Mr. Lucky 6:47
2. Bye, Bye Blackbird 6:30
3. Mar Descancado (The Calm Sea) 5:37
4. In A Sentimental Mood 4:09

Side 2
1. Your Smile 5:52
2. Close Enough For Love 3:06
3. Danielle 4:55
4. Lolita's Theme 4:16

Recorded January 5 & 6, 1981 at Blue Marble Studios, New York.

Clarinet – Buddy DeFranco
Guitar – Joe Cohn
Piano – Albert Dailey
Bass – George Duvivier
Drums – Ronnie Bedford
Considering that he recorded extensively for Norman Granz's Norgran and Verve labels in the 1950s, it is surprising that it took until 1984 before clarinetist Buddy DeFranco finally led a session for Granz's Pablo Records. On the first of his two Pablo dates, DeFranco is joined by the cool-toned guitarist Joe Cohn, pianist Albert Dailey, bassist George Duvivier, and drummer Ronnie Bedford, for some standards along with obscurities by Victor Feldman ("Your Smile"), Al Cohn, Bernie Senensky, and Eddie Higgins; he also greatly uplifts Henry Mancini's "Mr. Lucky." To his credit, DeFranco (who at that point had ranked near the top for 40 years) had not given up his search for fresh material in which to test himself.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar