Billy Eckstine - No Cover, No Minimum (1960)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:04:53 | Size: 272.33 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. Have A Song On Me [1:08]
2. I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face [2:26]
3. Lady Luck [3:03]
4. Lush Life [4:04]
5. Without A Song [2:17]
6. Moonlight In Vermont [2:56]
7. I Want A Little Girl [2:02]
8. Medley; Prelude To A Kiss- I'm Beginning To See The Light [4:56]
9. Fools Rush In [2:12]
10. In The Still Of The Night [3:41]
11. Prisoner Of Love [1:57]
12. Little Mama [3:23]
13. I Apologize [1:57]
14. Till There Was You [3:25]
15. Medley; I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart- I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good- Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me [6:08]
16. Alright, Okay, You Win [3:22]
17. 'Deed I Do [2:21]
18. It Might As Well Be Spring [2:44]
19. That's For Me [2:25]
20. You'll Never Walk Alone [3:20]
21. Misty [5:05]

Vocals, Trumpet Solos - Billy Eckstine
Saxophone - Charlie McLean, Buddy Balboa
Trombone - Bucky Manieri
Trumpet - Charlie Walp
Drums - Bucky Grievey
Conductor, Arranged By, Piano - Bobby Tucker
Others Unknown
Billy Eckstine defined the art of male ballad singing in jazz in the 1940s with the rich depths and soaring highs of his voice, his consummate phrasing, and his control of the subtlest pitch inflections.
No Cover, No Minimum is a 1960 live recording from the New Frontier Hotel in Las Vegas, and it's one of the great jazz vocal albums of the period, for Eckstine's delivery of medium and up-tempo swing tunes, as well as his ballads.
After an irritating introductory flagwaver, "Have a Song on Me," Eckstine and the band settle into a strong program that includes two Ellington medleys with stellar versions of "Prelude to a Kiss" and "I Let a Song Go out of My Heart." The Ducal presence is strong here, with Eckstine also including a rendering of Billy Strayhorn's "Lush Life" that's unusually faithful to the composer's original. The great ballad performances here include "Moonlight in Vermont," Eckstine's pitch control glowing in the final notes, and a superb version of Erroll Garner's "Misty."
A flexible small band, with pianist Bobby Tucker responsible for the arrangements and musical direction, supports Eckstine wonderfully. Trombonist Bucky Manieri has a good solo spot on "I Want a Little Girl" and Eckstine himself plays convincing trumpet solos on "Lady Luck" and "'Deed I Do."
Stuart Broomer, Amazon.com

Billy Eckstine had one of the sweetest voices in jazz singing. This CD is his best record in print. While many of his best songs appear on his "The best of the M-G-M years: Everything I have is yours", this CD is even better.
This CD contains outstanding standards from the best songbooks (Kern, Ellington and a few of Rodgers and Hammerstein's best songs, including the almost hymn "You'll never walk alone"). The Excellent remastering of this CD (much better than the mentioned compilation of "The best of the M-G-M years") enables to fully enjoy the great baritone. In addition, 12 of the 21 tracks in this CD were previously unissued.
If you're interested in Jazz or Jazz singing you'll enjoy every minute.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar