Jimmy Rowles - Trio '77-'78 (1977-78)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:06:18 | Size: 267.30 MB | FLAC
1. Jeru 4:28
2. Venu De Milo 2:44
3. Godchild 3:24
4. Darn That Dream 3:28
5. Stars And Strippes Forever 5:26
6. Here's That Rainy Day 5:02
7. We Could Make Such Beautiful Music Together 5:59
8. Medley: How Do You Do Miss Josephine / Three On A Watch 4:48
9. Shake It, But Don't Break It! 5:03
10. I Can't Get Started 7:46
11. In The Still Of The Night 8:19
12. Georgia On My Mind 4:02
13. 'Round Midnight 5:49

Jimmy Rowles, piano on all tracks, plus:

[1-4] Rufus Reid (b), Mickey Roker (d).

Recorded in New York, on November 2-3, 1977.

[5-11] George Mraz (b), Leroy Williams (d).

Recorded in New York, on April 4, 1978.
First time on CD all of Jimmy Rowles 1977 trio tracks. A set of tunes originally played by the Miles Davis "Birth of the Cool" nonet. With Rowles on piano, bassist Rufus Reid and drummer Mickey Roker.

Coupled with this is the trio session from the following year (George Mraz, bass and Leroy Williams, drums). The repertoire is a mix of standard tunes plus an unusual arrangement of "Stars and Stripes Forever"

As bonus tracks, there are a rare solo piece ("Georgia on My Mind") and a beautiful quartet version of "Round Midnight".

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar