Herb Geller - The Herb Geller Quartet (1993)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:08:15 | Size: 154.23 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. The Red Door
2. Chromatic Cry
3. Maybe September
4. Stars In My Eyes
5. Bankin' On Bank
6. Midnight Memories
7. Stand-Up Comic
8. The Peacocks
9. This Is New
10. Soon
11. Isfahan

Recorded at Sage & Sound, Hollywood, California on August 5 & 6, 1993.

Herb Geller, alto & soprano saxophones, vocals
Tom Ranier, Jimmy Rowles, piano
John Leitham, bass
Louie Bellson, drums
This quartet outing with pianist Tom Ranier, bassist John Leitham, and drummer Louis Bellson is one of altoist Herb Geller's finest recordings. Geller, whose long period in Europe has resulted in him being somewhat forgotten in the U.S., has actually improved through the years and was even stronger in the mid-'90s than he had been in the mid-'50s. For this date he contributes five originals (including a tribute to Lenny Bruce, "Stand-Up Comic," during which Geller sings) and performs six mostly lesser-known standards, highlighted by "The Peacocks," which has its composer, Jimmy Rowles, sitting in on piano. This CD is easily recommended to bop collectors, for it finds Herb Geller at the peak of his powers.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar