Rich Perry Quartet - Hearsay (2002)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:03:44 | Size: 183.22 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. King Baby
2. Hearsay
3. Sam
4. Penance
5. Bigos
6. Gymel
7. Then From Now
8. On Clouds Danced

Personnel: Rich Perry (tenor saxophone); Steve Lampert (trumpet); Dennis Irwin (bass); Jeff Hirshfield (drums).

Rich Perry's eighth Steeplechase disc makes a point of featuring the little-known trumpeter/composer Steve Lampert, who penned all but two of the tunes for the session. Bassist Dennis Irwin and drummer Jeff Hirshfield complete the lineup. The absence of a chordal instrument makes for a lot of harmonic openness, and that serves these sparse, freebop-oriented tunes just fine. Lampert, playing muted all the way through, proves to be a fluid and compelling soloist. As a composer, he gravitates toward unusual rhythmic feels, the best examples being the modified 12-bar blues "Gymel" and the agitated double-time "Penance." Perry seems to thrive on these relatively abstract themes; his interaction with the rhythm section is typically laid-back and imaginative.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar