Jukka Perko Avara - Invisible Man (2016)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 51:04 | Size: 116.95 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Invisible Man
02. Like Father Like Son
03. Tears in Heaven
04. He Left the Road
05. Pimento
06. Sweet Solitude
07. Nameless Angel
08. Awakening
09. Helmi
10. Open Door
11. Don't Give Up
12. Pavane
Label - ACT Music
Recorded at Hansa Studios, Berlin, November 19 & 20, 2015

Jukka Perko - alto-& soprano saxophone
Jarmo Saari - electric guitar
Teemu Viinikainen - acoustic guitar
Jukka Perko Avara: Invisible Man The three major names in the Finnish jazz world featured here come from three very different corners of the firmament. Jukka Perko achieved global recognition as a youth playing alto and soprano saxophone with Thelonius Monk, while guitarists Teemu Viinikainen and Jarmo Saari are better known in Scandinavia, the latter also for his proggy and pop excursions with XL Finland and Von Hertzen Brothers. Together on this disc they combine these orientations to play an assortment of self-penned and cover pieces in a light but very well-tempered mode.
While Jukka Perko has strayed little from the traditional jazz canon, both Viinikainen and Saari have had their own essays with experimentalism. Saari's treatments underpin the arrangements, leaving Viinikainen's more acoustic approach prominent and effective. However there is ample space for all players, with a range of tunes from Viinikainen and Perko's delicate "Like Father Like Son" to the Saari"s sorrowful "Helmi," as well as three covers ranging from Peter Gabriel and Kate Bush's "Don't Give Up" to Fauré's "Pavanne." With such a range of experience and depth of approach, it could be that these mellow but joyful instrumental pieces will appeal to fans of both Bacharach as well as Captain Beefheart.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar